Posted: Sun Jul 12, 2015 9:09 pm   Post subject: Extract your data from e-mails automatically for free

I am an individual public school teacher who bought Quizmaker on my own because it provides a superior platform vs the quiz development tool included in my school district's LMS. The big drawback is that to get consolidated results the options were not good. I could try to get the attention of an IT professional in the school system to write some code to get the data into the school's LMS (not likely to happen), use iLearn LMS from iSpring for a couple of thousand dollars a year (definitely not going to happen), pay iSpring for customization (nope), or read tons of e-mail (not a good option with 180 students).

On the New Features discussion page, several others and I have requested iSpring to consider improvements in this area but it doesn't look like much is going to be done. So, here is a solution for those of you in my situation: e-mail parsing software.

You can download a free e-mail parser from automatedemailparser.com and use it to automatically sort through your e-mails from iSpring, pick out any data you want to retrieve, and put it in a spreadsheet file.

Now, up until yesterday I had never used an e-mail parser in my life, but this is a pretty simple program with outstanding documentation (I can't believe it's free!), and I had it working smoothly to extract names and scores within a few minutes. Then I added fields to capture the points for each question and it worked too. I ended up with an Excel file with all the names, scores, and points for each question.

No IT requests. No javascript code at all. Absolutely free. Just the data I want formatted the way I want. I know I make it sound easy, and it is, but of course there are details like how to use it with gmail that took a little creativity to work out. If there is interest I could post a more complete write-up of instructions.

Profile profile test