Posted: Tue May 03, 2011 7:59 pm   Post subject: Increasing Interactivity

As an instructional designer I am continually looking to increase the ways a student can interact with the learning material.

It seems to me, if we could use some of the quiz interactions as practice interactions, it would be way cool.

That is the ability to insert a matching exercise or an ordered list exercise with feedback. These interactions would not be graded, only give the student a chance to practice with the material.

Thanks for listening.

Profile profile test

Posted: Wed May 04, 2011 9:26 am   Post subject: Re: Increasing Interactivity

Thanks for sharing your thoughts.

If I understand right, you need to add several questions with no score to a graded quiz. Yes, it is possible to accomplish this combining both general settings for the whole quiz and custom settings for an individual question.

Below I describe an example where I have a 5-question quiz and I want to make 1 question non-graded:

1) Open a quiz in QuizMaker, go to Settings menu:
a. In the Main tab set the required parameters in the "Passing score" and "Normalize score to" fields. For clarity, I put "100" in both;
b. In the Question defaults tab set the required amount for “Points Awarded”. In my example as I want only 4 questions to be scored and the total score is 100, I put the default points value for each question equal to "25";

2) Click "Ok" and close the Settings menu. Open the question that should be non-graded;

3) Unmark "Use default options" in the "Options" area on the bottom of the window. Now it is possible to set different points and attempts value for this question. I put "0" points value.

Now points are awarded only for 4 questions in the quiz and the 5th question doesn't influence the final score even if a student gives a wrong answer.

In the next version of iSpring QuizMaker 6.0 it will be possible to create a non-graded quiz ("survey" quiz type). Currently this feature is under development.