Posted: Thu Jul 09, 2015 6:25 pm   Post subject: An easy way to output data

I have six sections of 30 students. That's a lot of e-mail. My school is tied into a LMS with the county system but I am not sure with a school system of 170,000 students and 20,000 employees I'm going to get much help. iSprings cloud costs money and as a teacher I don't have any to spare.

However, there is an easy way to report out data so that it can be accessed by Excel.I did it before when I designed my own interactive quizzes using Powerpoint and its Visual Basic code editor.

When I designed the quiz I specified the file to use for the data. Then I set up a text file with that name and placed it in an accessible folder on the share drive, for instance s:\my_school\my_teacher_id\quiz_results\AP_Physics_Kinematics_quiz.txt

When the student finished the quiz, the program looked to see if the file was closed, if so, it opened it, appended the file with a string, and closed the file.

Lets say I had 5 questions worth 20 points and allowed partially correct answers. I want the last name, first name, section letter, and points for each question. If I use a colon as a delimiter, the string would look something like this
Doe:John:A:20:20:0:14:20

I can open AP_Physics_Kinematics_quiz.txt as a delimited text file and have all the data end up in the correct columns. Then I am ready to analyse the data with all the tools Excel has to offer, which usually is much better than viewing the data with LMS tools.

The teacher doesn't have to know java scripting, or anything about XML files. Just create a text file, store it in an accessible place, tell Quizmaker the name and location of the file , and know how to use a spreadsheet.

It really would be a easy implementation. I will post some replies to address some issues with this approach.

Profile profile test

Posted: Thu Jul 09, 2015 6:38 pm   Post subject: Re: An easy way to output data

A follow-up to my original post.